All you need to know about Grief: Types, Symptoms, Effects and Beyond


Loss is a predominant part of every human life and grief is the common way of coping up with that. Howbeit, often, it doesn’t remain as just a sorrowful feeling in the minds of people and rather it can cause a far more serious impact. There is a term called grief disorder.


Are you aware of that?


Just like any other bodily disease, it is a psychological ailment where people go highly depressive and negative about their existence. In fact, people need the help of professionals to overcome from this grief and loss.  


What are the types of grief disorder?


Prolonged grief disorder


This grief disorder affects people for a prolonged period of time. According to the Oncology Nursing Forum, those people who have a family history of this disorder often suffer from its dangerous symptoms.


Among all the types of grief disorder, this one can be diagnosed for around six months after a casual traumatic event.


Complicated grief disorder


Complicated grief disorder is not much indifferent from prolonged grief disorder. The Columbia University School of Social Work depicted in his research that almost 10% of all the bereaved people go through this type of grief. People suffer from this kind of grief when the normal extent of grief after a traumatic event doesn’t fade away.


What are the symptoms of grief and loss?


There is more than one type of grief and loss with various grief symptoms. The signs of grief might vary from suicidal thoughts to difficulty in fulfilling tasks, depression and so on.


However, the signs potential signs can be categorized into the following types:


Emotional symptoms of grieving


There are various psychological grief symptoms, which are associated with the human mind. It includes enhanced irritability, bitterness, numbness, detachment, preoccupation with loss, inability to show happiness in their face and so on.


Physical symptoms of grieving


Physical grief symptoms might be many based on the extent of depression that one is feeling. Some of the common physical symptoms, which are often seen among individuals, are fatigue, digestive problems, headache, chest pain, sore muscles and so on. These symptoms are pretty common when someone is suffering from any mental pain but all these can be cured with the help of a psychological doctor.


What are the various stages of grief and loss?


There are various stages of grief and the famous model of Kübler-Ross has signified it in a precise way. One doesn’t suddenly feel at the peak of mental dissatisfaction. Rather, a person goes through a number of stages, which are of course not linear.


Suppose, we might feel happy and content one day, it doesn’t assures that the following days will be also the same for us. At any time, a huge stream of sorrow can just shatter us altogether. Moreover, it is not possible for human beings to remain dejected every time. We need some space to find relative peace.


Don’t we?


So, grief is never linear (i.e. first comes denial, then bargaining which gets followed by anger, depression and acceptance at last). However, these stages of sorrow that Dr. Elizabeth Kübler-Ross has defined in her book ‘On Death & Dying’ are discussed below:


  1. Denial


When a person learns for the first time from any loss, they think that it’s not going to happen. This is the stage called denial. It can be considered as an emotional rush to deal with any overwhelming emotion.


  1. Bargaining


This is the stage when a person goes through a psychological dilemma that what he/she would have done to prevent a certain loss. This is one of the most common signs of grief. The most common thoughts that come in people’s minds are ‘ If only’, ‘What if’ and so on.


  1. Anger


When the reality comes into the picture and you face the actual pain or loss, you might feel frustrated. These feelings, later on, take the shape of anger. It might sometimes get directed towards people too. There is no wrong in getting angry with a loved one who died and left you alone in the world.


  1. Depression


Sadness is something, which sets in when you understand the real meaning of loss and how it is affecting your life. This is the time when you will probably feel that everything has just blown away from your life and feel regretful and lonely.


  1. Acceptance


This is the time you finally accept the loss that you’ve gone through and understand that it can’t be changed anymore. Here, you feel sad but remain with the hope that you can still move forward in life.


Effects of grief and loss


Grief can cause both short-term and long-term effects on individuals. The short-term ones include one’s inability to go to the work or lack of desire to attend a social gathering etc. On the other hand, the long-term effects could be pretty serious.


It can lead to depression and intense psychological traumas. If remain untreated, the long-term impact of grief can even lead to attempt to suicide and other dangerous effects.


How can grief be treated medically?


There are various possible options for treating extreme sadness and grief. Be it taking antidepressant drugs or getting in touch with a psychologist, even the extreme cases of depression can be treated well.


So, this is all about grief and sorrow that is, unfortunately, the part of everyone’s lives. It is always smart to have a thorough idea of what it is in order to deal with that disturbing feeling in your life promptly. Precisely, this is the main objective of curating this piece of writing.


Hope you’ve understood the concept of grief in a much more comprehensive way.    





About the Author
Lyuthar Jacobs is working as a blog editor at Dealslands UK. He loves to write about lifestyle, health, self-improvement, and motivation. He is very responsible towards his job. He also loves to spread his knowledge to the world.